My first Browning!

Discussion in 'New Member Welcome Area' started by Caavy, Oct 31, 2015.

1. Caavy

Caavy Copper BB

Hi Everyone ... I am new to shotguns as a result of an old friend gifting me one ... I know very little about guns and wanted to start by actually identifying my gun! I went onto the Browning website to try and identify my gun but evidently I am not smart enough because I didn't get to an answer ... so hoping someone here is more capable than I!

Here is what I know from the gun

It's a 20 ga. over and under
    There are fixed chokes (modified and IC ... that much I was able to figure out!)
    The serial number is 46379 V7
    It was made in Belgium

That's all I know ... I have never even fired the gun!

Welcome any direction from those of you who are knowledgeable about all things Browning!

Thanks a lot for any help to get me started!

Ian
    SHOOTER13 likes this.
  2. SHOOTER13

SHOOTER13 Guest

Welcome to the Browning Owners Forum Ian !!

Pictures of both sides of the firearm and photo's of all inscriptions WILL help us help you....

Enjoy the forum !!
  3. Caavy

Caavy Copper BB

Excellent thank you! ... Here are some pics I just took ... hope it will help you all help me!

IMG_7247.jpg IMG_7252.JPG IMG_7253.JPG IMG_7255.jpg IMG_7259.jpg IMG_7261.jpg IMG_7262.JPG IMG_7263.jpg IMG_7266.jpg
    SHOOTER13 likes this.
  4. Rudolph31

Rudolph31 .30-06

Wow -- your friend must really love you. That's a 20 gauge Superposed, made in 1967 and worth in the neighborhood of $2000. Maybe more, I'm not an expert on Superposeds. The current Citori is a simplified (cheaper) version of this classic John Browning design. Production was moved from Belgium to Japan in the '70s. But the FN Custom Shop will still build you one for about $25,000.

This reference is better than the Browning website:

http://www.nramuseum.org/media/940941/serialization-date of manufacture.pdf