BLR round ejection

Discussion in 'Browning BLR Rifle' started by Dio, Feb 12, 2016.

1. Dio

Dio .22LR

Recently purchased my 30-06 BLR (new). Given that I am a novice with a lever action rifle, I decided to practice with Tipton snap caps to become proficient with loading, triggering, and ejecting rounds. I'm experiencing multiple jams during practice sessions. It appears two rounds are being fed on some pulls and jamming the receiver. It's not happening every time, but more than enough to cause concern. I'm not babying the lever. Not sure what is causing the sporadic jams. I hope it is the snap caps or something I'm doing wrong which can easily be corrected, but concerned it may not be. Your experience with the BLR would be greatly appreciated.
  2. SHOOTER13

SHOOTER13 Guest

Make sure you look at the manual and "Lube" all the points suggested...

I'm pretty sure snap caps aren't meant to be cycled through a lever action...but I could be wrong.

I myself would lube it and cycle a few LIVE rounds through it outside...with the firearm pointed to the ground...using the utmost caution NOT to stick you finger in the trigger guard.

Report back with your findings...
    Dio likes this.
  3. MZ5

MZ5 .270 WIN

It could be the snap caps, or perhaps there's a magazine issue. Either could cause the symptom you describe. I'd look at the snap caps first, magazine second.
    Dio likes this.
  4. Dio

Dio .22LR

Shooter13 suggested lubrication per BLR manual and cycling actual rounds. I will know once I use real ammo. I think it's the snap caps. They are pretty light compared to actual bullets and may not be best choice for lever action rifles. The caps did serve their purpose despite the sporadic jams. I'm feeling more comfortable with loading and cycling procedures. Thanks for the feedback.
    SHOOTER13 likes this.
  5. SHOOTER13

SHOOTER13 Guest

Keep us in the loop as to what happens with live rounds....AND BE CAREFUL !!
    Dio likes this.
  6. Dio

Dio .22LR