Thoughts of New A-5

Discussion in 'Browning Auto A-5' started by Morgan Harris, Jul 14, 2015.

1. Morgan Harris

Morgan Harris Copper BB

Hey guys, I'm new to the forum. I was wondering how the new A-5s shoot and overall performance. I work as a firearm salesman and I'm very familar with the specs. I have not had the opportunity to shoot the new A-5s yet. I grew up with my grandfather's old Belgian which I lost in a will dispute (not worth getting into a fist fight with a cousin about (on second thought...)) That humpback design is what I learned to shoot with and I can take down anything with it. I've never fully been able to transition to anything else, the Auto-5 just fit me. My question is how do y'all like your new A-5s and if there's anything I should be warned about them?
  2. SHOOTER13

SHOOTER13 Guest

Welcome to the Browning Owners Forum Morgan !!

Can't say I've heard anything negative about the new A-5's...
    Morgan Harris likes this.
  3. Rudolph31

Rudolph31 .30-06

I disliked the new A5 because though made to resemble the Auto-5, it's a completely different gun. Not a new gun -- its "inertial action" is copied from the Benelli.

Shotgun expert Randy Wakeman dislikes the chokes and the trigger.

That said, a friend had one at the club last year and offered to let me shoot it. Station 4 Skeet doubles, it swung nicely and both targets broke. I didn't notice the trigger, chokes, or inertial action.

Shoot one, if it fits and you can get past the sticker shock, buy it. I'm sticking with the Auto-5.
  4. Morgan Harris

Morgan Harris Copper BB

Thanks for the input Rudolph. My biggest concern has been the choke system. The DS is unproven. That being said I'm rarely impressed with factory chokes. I'm glad to hear it worked well on doubles. I was also interested in the follow up shots.