Tactical Questions

Discussion in 'Tactical And Home Defense' started by FOX3, Aug 21, 2010.

1. FOX3

FOX3 .22LR

For any tactical questions feel free to ask me. I am by no means an expert, and there is more than one right way to do things, but I have experience in Long Range Markmenship, Close quarters combat, Breaching, pistol tactics and other somewhat harder to get skills.
  2. DHonovich

DHonovich Founder Staff Member Administrator

What are some things to look for or think about when deciding on a shotgun setup for home defense/tactical purpose?
  3. FOX3

FOX3 .22LR

The best answer I could give you would be whatever feels right in your hands.

A shorter barrel is always good because it allows you to bring your weapon up on target quicker. A bird gun has a longer barrel to give you the range needed. A CQC (close quarters combat) or defense weapon should have a shorter to avoid snagging it on things. If you get a weapon with a "cookie cutter" thingy on the front it can be used as a less than lethal option to shooting someone.

As for stock options (the ones on your weapon, not fortune 500 types) a full stock would allow you to switch out the barrel and convert the weapon to a bird/deer gun. A pistol grip would limit the all around uses of the weapon, although keeping the overall footprint down. I would recommend a top folding stock with a pistol grip. You can put a shell holder onto the under side of the folding stock and keep it out of the way. I like the setup found here:

http://www.atigunstocksusa.com/mossberg ... 0stock.htm