Still Confusing ?

Discussion in 'Browning Auto A-5' started by Jack Shea, Jan 14, 2017.

1. Jack Shea

Jack Shea Copper BB

I've enjoyed reading all the great information you fellas provide on Mr Brownings marvelous Automatic 5 shotgun, truly a masterpiece of engineering ! I read just about all I could find on the subject of adjusting the gun for heavy or light loads but still confused. The gun I possess is a 1952 standard weight 12G 2 3/4. I took the gun to a local gunsmith who owns two A5's and he was even unsure of proper adjustment of ring and bushing ? My 12G sat in a safe, spring under tension sine the 70's, I have not fired it yet myself so looking for suggestions on proper adjustment and type of shells to purchase to get me started. I'm not a novice as I did own a American A5 in the past, never even knew about adjustment for different loads. Thanks in advance
  2. Rudolph31

Rudolph31 .30-06

If you are going to shoot targets, buy 1 1/8oz target loads and set the rings for light loads. In general, you want the most friction that the gun will function with. Also, go to the Browning website and download the Owners ' Manual. That will show the proper way to set the rings.

And by the way, was if your serial number starts with a "G", your gun is a
    Light Twelve and not a standard weight.
  3. Jack Shea

Jack Shea Copper BB

Thanks ! It's a standard, I've got no G before the serial number. Configuring the bronze bushing and bevel washer to compensate for light or heavy loads is probably the most confusing issue with the A5. Brownings lack of providing a simple diagram showing the parts in an exploded view exaggerated the problem and led to broken guns needlessly.....just my opinion !
  4. Rudolph31

Rudolph31 .30-06

Page 9 in the manual:

http://www.browning.com/content/dam/browning/support/owners-manuals/auto5-light-om-s.pdf