PENNSYLVANIA State Gun Laws:

Discussion in 'Middle Atlantic' started by SHOOTER13, May 28, 2014.

  1. SHOOTER13

    SHOOTER13 Guest

    Pennsylvania became the first American state to grant its citizens gun rights when its state constitution took effect in 1776.

    Pennsylvania’s 1776 Constitution
    No. XIII of the Pennsylvania Constitution of 1776’s Declaration of Rights stated, “That the people have a right to bear arms for the defence of themselves and the state; and as standing armies in the time of peace are dangerous to liberty, they ought not to be kept up; And that the military should be kept under strict subordination to, and governed by, the civil power.”

    The Pennsylvania Constitution was drafted in the summer of 1776 and it was adopted in September 1776. Among its principle authors was Benjamin Franklin. The constitution has been described as the “most democratic in America,” but it was deemed a failure almost immediately. It did not provide for an office of governor and left law-making responsibilities in the hands of a single assembly. It was replaced with a new constitution in 1790.

    The Pennsylvania Constitution of 1790, which became permanent, states: “The right of the citizens to bear arms in defence of themselves and the State shall not be questioned.”

    Pennsylvania is a shall-issue state, meaning authorities are required to issue carry permits to qualified applicants. Qualified applicants must be at least 21 years of age and be deemed of good character.

    Castle Doctrine
    Pennsylvania has a self-defense law based on the castle doctrine.

    Enacted in 2011, the law permits the use of physical force, including deadly force, against attackers inside one’s home or in any place the victim has the right to be. Pennsylvania became the 27th state to adopt a castle doctrine law with the bill’s passage in the state’s legislature.

    In addition to providing for the use of physical or deadly force against attackers, the law also provides civil immunity for persons who are forced to resort to force to stop an attack.

    Pro-Gun Provisions
    Pennsylvania allows open carry of gun in most locations. Persons must be at least 18 years old to carry, and must have a carry permit before carrying firearms in their vehicle. Some cities have stricter laws regarding open carry.

    Pennsylvania also has a firearms preemption law that prevents cities or counties from passing gun laws that are more restrictive than state law, and a range protection law that extends protection to gun firing ranges.

    Pennsylvania’s carry permits are honored by the following states: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming.

    Pennsylvania honors permits from the following states: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming.

    Restrictions
    • Gun bans: None.
    • Waiting period for gun purchases: None.
    • Licenses or permits required to purchase guns: None.
    • Registration of guns required: No.

    Pennsylvania has exceptions that allow persons with carry permits to carry during state declared emergencies. Persons engaged in self-defense situations are also excused from any restrictions.

    =======================================================


    http://www.handgunlaw.us/states/pennsylvania.pdf

    http://www.nraila.org/gun-laws/state-laws/pennsylvania.aspx

    ================================================== ====

    Federal laws

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Firearms_Act

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gun_Control_Act_of_1968

    ================================================== ====

Share This Page