Making a BAR MK3 accuracy ?

Discussion in 'Browning BAR Rifle' started by JDS535, Aug 26, 2022.

1. JDS535

JDS535 Copper BB

Hello, I have little experience with the BAR, unfortunately what I have so far isn't good. I am looking for some tips on making a BAR more accurate. I am not sure if there are any tricks or tips to look for on this model but I am hoping.

I have a BAR Mk3 wood stock in 30-06. The trigger is pretty good with little creep and probably less than 3 pound pull. I bought this gun brand new. It has a brand new Leupold Vx3 3.5 - 10 x50 with Tally 1 piece rings / mounts tightened with Loktite blue.
    The best I can get for groups at 100 yards is 2 1/2 " with Federal Fusion 165 grain factory loads. I have tried 4 or 5 other quality factory loads with results from 3 - 6 inches for a 4 shot group. I have tried several handloads with 125, 150 and 165 grain ballistic tip, accubond and partition bullets and IMR4895, IMR4350, W760 and Varget powder. Same mixed results with nothing better than 3" groups, most in the 4 inch range.

From what I have read, these guns are capable of shooting well.

The places where I hunt have large hay fields and very long powerlines cutovers. That may offer long shots. My personal limit is 200 - 250 yards so I want something that groups a bit better than 2 3/4".

Any suggestions on this gun?
    E350 likes this.
  2. Ranger6

Ranger6 Administrator Staff Member Administrator Global Moderator Forum Moderator